Australia announces 15-player squad for men’s T20 World Cup

Australia has named West Australian wicketkeeper Josh Inglis in its 15-player squad for the upcoming Men’s T20 World Cup.

Inglis is yet to make his international debut, but has been selected for the World Cup as the reserve gloveman ahead of Alex Carey and Josh Philippe.

“Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white ball cricket and more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts,” newly-appointed chair of selector George Bailey said in a statement.

“He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

Watch India‘s Tour of England Live & On-Demand on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

Carey, widely tipped as a future Test captain and a mainstay of Australia’s white-ball sides, has dropped further down the pecking order behind first-choice wicketkeeper Matthew Wade.

Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Pat Cummins and Kane Richardson return to the squad after opting out of recent white-ball tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh.

Steve Smith has also been included despite his ongoing elbow injury.

Meanwhile, Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis and Daniel Sams have been named as travelling reserves.

With the exception of the newly-introduced World Test Championship, the men’s T20 World Cup is the only ICC trophy Australia has never lifted.

“We are confident this squad has the ability to take the side deep into what will be an extremely competitive tournament,” Bailey said.

“We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world.”

Josh Inglis represents London Spirit in The Hundred.Source:Getty Images

Australia T20 World Cup squad

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)

Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)

Josh Inglis (Western Australia)

Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Steve Smith (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)

Mitchell Swepson (Queensland)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (New South Wales)

Australia will face South Africa, England, reigning champions the West Indies and two qualifiers in the group stage, which commences on Saturday, October 23.

The national T20 side is coming off back-to-back 4-1 series defeats, and has not won a T20 series since before the Covid-19 pandemic.

Australia is currently ranked sixth on the ICC men’s T20 rankings.

The World Cup was moved to the United Arab Emirates and Oman due to the Covid-19 situation in India, which forced the Indian Premier League to be postponed earlier this year.

Considering the spin-friendly conditions in the sub-continent, Australia has selected three strike spinners in Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa and Mitchell Swepson.

Steve Smith of Australia.Source:News Corp Australia

Australia’s T20 World Cup schedule

October 23 – Australia vs South Africa (2pm local time, 9pm AEDT)

October 28 – Australia vs Qualifier A1 (6pm local time, 1am Oct 29 AEDT)

October 30 – Australia vs England (6pm local time, 1am Oct 31 AEDT)

November 4 – Australia vs Qualifier B2 (2pm local time, 9pm AEDT)

November 6 – Australia vs West Indies (2pm local time, 9pm AEDT)

Source: Read Full Article