India legend Kohli scoops award for ICC Men's Player of the DECADE

India legend Virat Kohli scoops award for ICC Men’s Player of the DECADE after scoring unmatched 20,396 runs over last 10 years… while Australia’s Ellyse Perry wins trio of awards for best Test, ODI and T20 women’s player

  • India star Virat Kohli has been crowned the ICC Men’s Player of the decade 
  • Australia’s Ellyse Perry was named best Test, ODI and T20 women’s player 
  • Steve Smith, who scored 7,040 runs, was named Test player of the decade

India captain Virat Kohli and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry have been named as the International Cricket Council’s players of the decade.

The awards, held in place of the usual end-of-year ceremony due to the effects of Covid-19 on the fixture calendar, were primarily decided by a panel of former players and experts, with a 10 per cent weighting on a public vote.

Kohli claimed the Sir Garfield Sobers Award for his performances across all formats, scoring an unmatched tally of 20,396 runs in the period, and also picked up the ODI cricketer of the year award.

India’s Virat Kohli was named the ICC’s Men’s player of the decade after scoring 20,396 runs

Perry went one better, celebrating a hat-trick by taking the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for women’s cricketer of the decade alongside the ODI and T20 prizes. As well as taking more wickets than anyone else, with 213, she also piled up 4,349 runs.

Kohli was prevented from a similar clean sweep with Steve Smith named Test player of the decade and Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan topping the T20 vote. Smith posted 7,040 runs and averaged 65.79 in 69 appearances to edge out a field that included England duo Joe Root and James Anderson.

Australia star Ellyse Perry won a trio of awards for the best Test, ODI and T20 women’s player

Steve Smith, who made 7,040 runs,  received the award for the Test player of the decade

The latter was one of four Englishmen to make the men’s Test team of the decade on Sunday, joining Sir Alastair Cook, Ben Stokes and Stuart Broad.

Scotland boasted both winners in the associate section, with Kyle Coetzer and Kathryn Bryce honoured.

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article