MLB announces 2018 Gold Glove Awards: Red Sox, Braves with three winners each

The Red Sox and Braves were the big winners when MLB announced the 2018 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards on Sunday.

Three players each from Boston, which captured the 2018 World Series, and Atlanta took home Gold Gloves at their respective positions, while Rockies star third baseman Nolan Arenado secured the award for the sixth time in his six-year career.

For only the fourth time ever, there was a tie for the award at a position, as Atlanta’s Freddie Freeman and the Cubs’ Anthony Rizzo split the honors for first base in the National League. 

Meanwhile, the Athletics, Royals and Colorado all also had multiple winners. A’s first baseman Matt Olson and third baseman Matt Chapman each earned their first career Gold Gloves.

Here is the complete list of 2018 Gold Glove winners

NL: Yadier Molina, Cardinals
AL: Salvador Perez, Royals

First base
NL: Freddie Freeman, Braves and Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
AL: Matt Olson, Athletics

Second base
NL: DJ LeMahieu, Rockies
AL: Ian Kinsler, Red Sox

NL: Nick Ahmed, Diamondbacks
AL: Andrelton Simmons, Angels

Third base
NL: Nolan Arenado, Rockies
AL: Matt Chapman, Athletics 

Left field
NL: Corey Dickerson, Pirates 
AL: Alex Gordon, Royals 

Center field
NL: Ender Inciarte, Braves 
AL: Jackie Bradley Jr., Red Sox 

Read This

Rangers hire Dodgers 3B coach Chris Woodward as new manager

MLB free agency rumors: Cardinals plan to ‘explore’ market for star Bryce Harper

Right field
NL: Nick Markakis, Braves 
AL: Mookie Betts, Red Sox 

NL: Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks 
AL: Dallas Keuchel, Astros 

Source: Read Full Article