Bill Russell, Chris Bosh, Paul Pierce headline Basketball Hall of Fame 2021 class

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 2021 inductees on Sunday, a day after enshrining legends Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett and more. The 2021 class’ headliners are Bill Russell (as a coach), Paul Pierce and Chris Bosh.

Russell, inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player in 1975, won his final two titles with the Celtics as a player-coach after Red Auerbach retired ahead of the 1966-67 season. He was not only the first Black coach in NBA history, but also the first Black professional North American coach. He is also the first such coach to win a championship.

Pierce joins Garnett, his former Celtics teammate, in the Hall of Fame. A 10-time All-Star, he captured the NBA championship and Finals MVP award in 2008. Bosh, who won his two NBA titles as part of the Heat’s “Big Three” alongside Dwyane Wade and LeBron James, was an 11-time NBA All-Star whose career was cut short because of health issues.

Other notable entrants into the 2021 Hall of Fame class include four-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year Ben Wallace, Fab Five standout and five-time NBA All-Star Chris Webber and Hofstra and Villanova coach Jay Wright, who has two NCAA Tournament titles and four Final Four appearances under his belt. Women’s inductees include Yolanda Griffith (WNBA champion, WNBA MVP and eight-time All-Star) and Lauren Jackson, a legend in both the WNBA and WNBL.

Below is the full 2021 enshrinement class:

Basketball Hall of Fame 2021 class

North American Committee

Women’s Committee


Veterans Committee

International Committee

Women’s Veterans

Early African American Pioneers

Source: Read Full Article