Refs admit confusion led to Warriors’ Draymond Green’s second technical foul, ejection

Draymond Green hasn't done much to receive the benefit of the doubt when it comes to technical foul assessments. 

But even the officiating crew admitted he was on the wrong side of a tech during the Golden State Warriors' loss to the New York Knicks on Thursday. 

Second-year referee John Butler whistled Green for his second technical foul of the game about a minute prior to halftime after Green turned the ball over on an entry pass to rookie James Wiseman. Green voiced some form of displeasure – loud enough to be heard on the television broadcast inside a mostly empty Chase Arena – toward Wiseman, while Butler assumed the animus was directed at him or another official. 

Golden State Warriors forward Draymond Green (23) reacts as referee Ben Taylor (46) issues him a second technical to eject him from the game as security guard Ralph Walker tries to escort him off the court during the second quarter against the New York Knicks at Chase Center. (Photo: Kelley L Cox, USA TODAY Sports)

Green had picked up his first technical in the first quarter for arguing a call too long. The second technical triggered Green's ejection.  

"At halftime, Ben Taylor came out and told me that it was a mistake, that John Butler didn't realize Draymond was yelling at his teammate," Kerr told reporters after the game, per NBC Bay Area. "He thought he was yelling at him."

Although refs regularly huddle throughout the course of a game to determine correct judgements, no such conference occurred following Green's ejection. Via a pool reporter, Taylor said there was no discussion of overturning the call. 

"I'm just a bit confused," Green told The Undefeated. "Officials can meet and make a decision on any call throughout the game, but when it comes to a technical that was clearly the wrong call, due to an official assuming I was talking to him when in fact I wasn't, that can't be overturned? Maybe it's time to take a look at that rule. I would love clarity on why that's the rule, if in fact it is a rule."

The NBA has the ability to rescind Green's second technical toward his total season count, but it won't change the fact the three-time All-Star missed the entire second half as the Warriors couldn't close the gap on the Knicks. 

Follow Chris Bumbaca on Twitter @BOOMbaca.

Source: Read Full Article