Was pass interference late in Chiefs’ win over Titans in AFC championship game the correct call? The internet debates

Because it wouldn’t be the NFL playoffs without more controversial calls.

Late in the fourth quarter of Sunday’s AFC championship game, which Kansas City won 35-24, a pivotal third-down for the Chiefs was converted in the form of a questionable pass interference call against the Titans.

The NFL’s rules on pass interference do contain an interesting bulletpoint. A play does not result in pass interference if “contact that would normally be considered pass interference, but the pass is clearly uncatchable by the involved players.” So there are some things to consider here:

A call of this nature may be considered pass interference by the NFL rulebook, but it rewards offenses for inaccurate passes downfield. All things considered, it was a 50-50 call, but by the rule of NFL law, it is pass interference.

Judgement is involved on the part of officials to deem what exactly is a catchable ball, something that needs a more clear explanation in the NFL rulebook.

And, as one can imagine, Twitter took the debate to the internet waves.

Source: Read Full Article