Portuguese Grand Prix LIVE: Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen start behind Valtteri Bottas

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Round Three
Portuguese Grand Prix LIVE:

  • Valtteri Bottas starts on pole position ahead of his team-mate Lewis Hamilton
  • After a disappointing qualifying session, Max Verstappen in the Red Bull starts third, just behind Hamilton
  • Verstappen’s team-mate Sergio Perez tucks in just behind on the second row
  • Top three all start on the medium tyre, suggesting similar strategies
  • Out of place Daniel Ricciardo in the McLaren looking to calve his way through from P16

Lights out at 3pm

2pm – an hour to go until lights out

Hello and welcome to Express Sport’s live blog of the Portuguese Grand Prix happening live in Portimão!

Valtteri Bottas is the man who took a shock pole position ahead of the race, as Max Verstappen’s fastest lap, which would’ve been enough for pole, was deleted on Saturday.

After the session Verstappen said:

“Qualifying was very difficult to drive, I was struggling a lot with the grip.

“That first lap in Q3 was decent, but I just had a big moment at 4, so went a little bit off track, but I was quite confident we could do another good lap, but in the last sector there was a car in front, in the last two corners it just disturbs you.

“Especially with the low grip we already have, and the tough wind out here, basically it cost me a lot of lap time, but it is what it is.

“Hopefully everything stabilises a bit more because up until now, it’s not been a lot of fun to drive here.”

Meanwhile Hamilton was perplexed by his performance too – but with just a point seperating the two, expect fireworks off the line at 3pm!!

Full Grid: 1. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) 2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 3. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) 4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) 5. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) 6. Esteban Ocon (Alpine) 7. Lando Norris (McLaren) 8. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) 9. Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri) 10. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) 11. George Russell (Williams) 12. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo) 13. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) 14. Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri) 15. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo) 16. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) 10. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) 18. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) 19. Mick Schumacher (Haas) 20. Nikita Mazepin (Haas)

Source: Read Full Article