Ollie Lawrence named in England's starting line-up against Ireland

George Ford has to settle for a place on the bench as Eddie Jones sticks with his backline but brings Mako Vunipola, Kyle Sinckler, Sam Underhill and Tom Curry into the pack for England clash with Ireland

  • England host Ireland in the Autumn Nations Cup on Saturday at Twickenham
  • Despite criticism of his attack, coach Eddie Jones has opted for same formula
  • Jones has however recalled his experienced cavalry after the Georgia victory
  • England thrashed Georgia 40-0 last weekend in Autumn Nations Cup opener

England have named the same backline for Saturday’s Test against Ireland with Ollie Lawrence primed for another start in midfield.

Despite criticism of England’s attack, Eddie Jones has stuck with the same formula for the Autumn Nations Cup game at Twickenham.

The head coach, however, has rotated his pack, recalling his experienced cavalry after the victory over Georgia.

George Ford will start from the bench when England take on Ireland at Twickenham

Ollie Lawrence has been named in the England starting line-up for Autumn Nations Cup clash

As revealed by Sportsmail, flankers Tom Curry and Sam Underhill return to partner Billy Vunipola in the back-row.

In the shake-up of the forward pack, Maro Itoje is restored to the second row, alongside Joe Launchbury.

More to follow…

Eddie Jones’ side head into Saturday’s fixture off the back of their 40-0 win against Georgia



15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 44 caps)

14. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 52 caps)

13. Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors, 2 caps)

12. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 31 caps)

11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 58 caps)

10. Owen Farrell (c) (Saracens, 85 caps)

9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 101 caps)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 61 caps)

2. Jamie George (Saracens, 51 caps)

3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 37 caps)

4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 40 caps)

5. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 66 caps)

6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 25 caps)

7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 19 caps)

8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 53 caps)


16. Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby, 2 caps)

17. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 20 caps)

18. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 5 caps)

19. Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 1 cap)

20. Ben Earl (Bristol Bears, 5 caps)

21. Dan Robson (Wasps, 4 caps)

22. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 69 caps)

23. Max Malins (Bristol Bears, 1 cap)

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article