Galatasaray youngster intentionally misses penalty

Galatasaray youngster draws praise for intentionally missing penalty after being wrongly awarded it

  • Galatasaray’s Under-14 captain displayed a unique act of sportsmanship
  • Beknaz Almazbekov was awarded a penalty after going down in the box
  • There was no contact from the defender who was pressuring the forward 
  • Almazbekov proceeded to hit the penalty well wide on purpose 

Galatasaray’s Under-14 captain has been praised for his unique act of sportsmanship after being wrongly awarded a penalty during his team’s clash with Istanbulspor.

With his side leading 1-0 shortly before half-time, Beknaz Almazbekov cut inside from the left and went down under pressure from a defender in the box.

However, replays showed there was no contact from the right-back, who immediately protested his innocence with his team-mates.

Scroll down for video 

Beknaz Almazbekov went down in the box but there was no contact from the defender

Beknaz Almazbekov went down in the box but there was no contact from the defender 

The 13-year-old proceeded to intentionally miss the penalty to ensure justice was served

The 13-year-old proceeded to intentionally miss the penalty to ensure justice was served

Happened in Turkish U14 game between #Galatasaray and #Istanbulspor. Beknaz Almazbekov gets a penalty for a controversial foul without being touched and misses the penalty on purpose.pic.twitter.com/Zuj0CSPnKC#fairplay

And Almazbekov, who looked more to have lost his balance rather than anything else, was clearly unhappy with the referee’s decision to give the spot-kick.

The 13-year-old thus decided to take matters into his own hands, ensuring justice was served by intentionally firing the penalty miles wide.

The Kyrgyzstan’s admirable act clearly won him respect from his opponents who reached out to shake his hand in appreciation.

The defender who was deemed to have committed a foul was clearly enraged by the decision

The defender who was deemed to have committed a foul was clearly enraged by the decision

Almazbekov sought no praise for his act of sportsmanship as he got on with the game

Almazbekov sought no praise for his act of sportsmanship as he got on with the game 

Source: Read Full Article