Martin Atkinson was right to award Crystal Palace two penalties… Granit Xhaka was naive to foul Wilfried Zaha
- Shkodran Mustafi conceded a penalty when he fouled Cheikhou Kouyate
- Palace were given a second spot-kick after Wilfried Zaha was taken out in area
- Martin Atkinson missed Alexandre Lacazette’s handball ahead of an Arsenal goal
- REPORT: Luka Milivojevic converts two penalties as Palace end Arsenal’s run
Crystal Palace snatched a late point against Arsenal but they could have had all three.
Arsenal’s second goal should not have stood after Alexandre Lacazette handled Granit Xhaka’s corner.
Referee Martin Atkinson, standing on the edge of the penalty area, must have thought that Lacazette had got his hand out of the way but replays show the ball moved slightly before the Palace defender headed on to Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to score.
Martin Atkinson got two decisions right but he failed to spot Alexandre Lacazette’s handball
Lacazette handled the ball in the build up to Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang’s goal at Palace
If Lacazette had attempted to handle but failed to connect with the ball, it would not have been an offence. A player should only be penalised if they touch the ball with their hand or arm.
Atkinson was correct to award both Crystal Palace penalties. For the first spot-kick, Shkodran Mustafi slid in from behind on Cheikhou Kouyate and made no contact with the ball.
For the second, Wilfried Zaha moved the ball to draw Xhaka’s leg which made contact with the Palace forward. Xhaka was naive in sticking out his leg and therefore giving Atkinson a decision to make.
Granit Xhaka states his frustration to Atkinson after conceding a penalty in the second half
Source: Read Full Article