Mohamed Salah beats Jack Grealish to be named first ever Fans’ Footballer of the Year

Reach PLC’s inaugural Fans’ Footballer of the Year has been decided – with Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah taking the 2020 crown. With 23 goals and nine assists in just 31 Premier League appearances, Salah has beaten off stiff competition to win the award.

Aston Villa’s Jack Grealish received the second highest number of votes but ended up narrowly behind Salah.

Grealish helped keep Villa up last term and the captain of the Midlands club has been in sensational form this season with five goals and six assists in just 11 league games.

But Salah is the top goalscorer in the current campaign with 13 and was only four behind Golden Boot winner Jamie Vardy last term as the Reds won their first league title for 30 years.

And it is the ‘Egyptian King’ who takes the honour of being named the best player of 2020 in what has been a chaotic calendar year.

Behind winner Salah and second-placed Grealish, Manchester United winger Marcus Rashford comes third, celebrating his achievements both on and off the pitch.

PFA Player of the Year and Premier League Player of the Season Kevin De Bruyne, of Manchester City, ended up in fourth while Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson, the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year, could only finish fifth.

In sixth and seventh were Salah and Henderson’s Liverpool team-mates Sadio Mane and Virgil van Dijk respectively.

After our national network of journalists named a seven-man shortlist, fans had a month to vote for their Footballer of the Year and determine the order of the final seven.

Tens of thousands of supporters had their say but it is Salah’s whose last 12 months have been deemed the best of the best.

Others who narrowly missed out on making the top seven and rivalling Salah for the award included Tottenham duo Son Heung-min and Harry Kane, Leicester’s Vardy, Liverpool right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold and United talisman Bruno Fernandes.

You can see how the final order of the top seven was decided and find out the Club Fans’ Footballer’ of the Year for all 20 Premier League teams here.

Thank you to all who participated in the voting and we’ll be back again in 2021, when Salah is sure to face multiple challengers to his throne.

Reach PLC Fans’ Footballer of the Year top 15 in full

1 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
2 – Jack Grealish (Aston Villa)
3 – Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)
4 – Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
5 – Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
6 – Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
7 – Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
8 – Son Heung-min (Tottenham)
9 – Jamie Vardy (Leicester)
10 – Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
11 – Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
12 – Harry Kane (Tottenham)
13 – Danny Ings (Southampton)
14 – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)
15 – Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

Source: Read Full Article